The High Countries

because it’s all paperweight…

Lost Season 4: The Constant

Lost Season 4 The Constant

The morning began with a slow and steady beeping, rising with time, gaining momentum as it rang out in my ears. Outside of cancer or a kitchen full of home-schoolers, I don’t’ think there’s anything I hate more than my alarm. Now granted, if I liked it, I wouldn’t get up and its track record for a brisk, day-ruining wakeup proves its flawlessness. However, as I lay there at 5:58am, completely unconscious as to the reason I had set my alarm nearly 75 minutes early––it hit me. Like a bucket of water dumped on the brain, it was time for…

L O S T

Going to Pepperdine’s University’s rendition of The Bartered Bride made it impossible for me to watch the previous night; however, coffee in hand, eggs on the stove––I was the readiest. The Constant (Season 4, Episode 5, Summary: Desmond=Awesome) brought a sense of hope for a series that finds its audience in a very hopeless place. We are all lost on an island together; the island of doubt. We don’t doubt that there’s answers, we just doubt that they’re satisfactory. Last night gave us all a taste of some of the puzzles we have yet to be introduced to. The puzzle piece of time. The puzzle piece of The Freighter. The puzzle piece of new characters. And yet, as my roommate Todd (who has yet to officially start the series [re: obscene anger]) sit in the wee hours of the morning, awaiting The Constant’s end, he could see my face––beaten by feeble morning fog, but simultaneously gleaming with a new light: Progress. We’re making headway! As I said before, I feel as though I am on the island with them. Each episode like a pot hole for a blind man, each mystery as ghastly as the last, as if I were to wage my fate along side them and take up arms against the enemy. Wait, who’s the enemy! Which side would I join? And yes, watching me watch Lost is nearly as good as the show itself.

Regardless, The Constant brought up situations were have yet to see in a full episode of Lost (outside of Finales). For example, when Faraday (Davies, my new favorite character, fyi) decides he needs to talk to Desmond, it actually happens! Obviously, no on thinks they should talk, but then Sayid throws that guy around like its their wedding night and––right on––they talk on the phone! We get some answers! Now, I completely understand that Kate has to do her thing. With last week, we saw that Jack has some Dad issues, Kate has some matronly issues; I get it, it all needs to be laid out. But don’t you just find it ridiculous that we have to waste an entire week on that stuff? Don’t you wish we could get some good ol’ we’re-in-the-future-this-is-JACKED(no-pun-intended)-UP secrets every week? We want answers, but 95…hmmm…96% of the time, they’re pointless. We’re like a guy on the JV bowling team––we want our chance, but we know once we get it, it probably won’t live up to expectations.

So there I sat. So incredibly happy that the way I believed the show would go, was actually becoming a reality. Overjoyed that my two favorite characters (Des and Faraday) got to have an episode all to themselves. And not only to themselves, but also with some progress. Do I still doubt that the show can live up to my hype? Sure. But do I still think it has a chance? Definitely. And up until last night, I would have given a much different answer. One that most likely involved chairs flying across the room.

March 1, 2008 - Posted by | Lost, Television | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Dear all High Countries faithful,

    A one Bryce Vankooten claims to have abosrbed and reflected “a new light, the light of progress” after watching this past Thursday’s episode The Constant. I must declare, for the sake of genuinity and realitism, that LOST most certainly appears to have new life. Although not a “Lostie” myself, for many-a-month I observed with both concern and contentful delight the steady decay of a dear friend’s Thursday evening treasure. This friend unceasingly radiated a gleeming beam of joy and wonder over this mystery of a series (re: utter bewilderment) but could not wihthold his longing for the Mighty Hand of Story to reach down and pull the sinking corpse from the depths of the sea.

    It was no accident that as the sun broke through and gave life to man on that beautiful Southern California Friday morning I watched my roommate’s eyes sparkle with new life. LOST had seemed to officially been revived from the dead and even went to lengths to ascend once again to The High Countries.

    Sincerely,

    Todd

    Comment by Todd Stevenson | March 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] a place, but I can say that I wanted some movement.  When Desmond did his Marty McFly traveling in The Constant, I went wild.  When Keamy went from ‘not that tough’ to ‘okay, he could be tough’ by going […]

    Pingback by Lost: Season 4 Finale « The High Countries | June 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

