The High Countries

because it’s all paperweight…

Lost: Season 4 Finale

LOST Finale

As it all goes down, fans wait, watch and wilt till next season.

There’s No Place Like Home: Part 2 & 3

By Bryce VanKooten

Well, its all over. At least for now. How do we all feel? Can we describe it all in one word? Legit. Two words: deceptively inspiring? I suppose we need a time machine to get out exactly how we feel.

This year we saw lots and lots of things happen. Wait, no we didn’t. The season started with the ever-fateful ‘the folks on The Freighter are coming to get us’ and ended with the incredible twist: ‘the folks on The Freighter, although tricksy little hobbits’s––did not get us’. Granted, we got to meet Faraday (awesome, eccentric, all good things) and Charlotte (hmmm) and I’ll be the first to admit that I like them, but frankly––when all was said and done, plot wise… It was a simple season.

Remember first season when we saw a Hatch and were entertained just by the thought of it for about 15 episodes? Or when we saw only the feet of The Others walking by––just a glimpse––and we had more Goosebumps than a 6th grade library? Those were the days when nitwit fans were mixed in with the rest of the nuts and left to fight amongst themselves as to who would get the last handful of theory crumbs. Nowadays though, where do we live?  What is it going to take to get us back to that state of wonderment without that nostalgic sense of hate we so often feel? Can it be that we are too smart for our own good?  Always thinking outside the magic box, we can only be duped if hand-fed lies? I say nah, but that’s closer than not.

If ever there was a breaking point for me, it was the end of Season 3. It was the first season where I had to moan along with the rest of the world week by week (or should I say, week off to week on) because I had used up my luxury of DVD seasons (see previous post Lost: The Logic-Free Fee). It was then when I sat back and said, “Lost, I hereby swear I will disown you like a right-wing father to his hippie son if you don’t impress me beyond belief.” And like a true nonconforming child, it did. There I was, watching Jack drink his life away–– popping pills like a MLB All-star thinking to myself, “Well, it looks like this is it. I have to quit. I gotta shut er’ off.” And then it happened. They took me to the future. And like Never, Never, Land, I was hooked again.

When this year’s finale rolled around, I can’t say I was in as angry of a place, but I can say that I wanted some movement. When Desmond did his Marty McFly bit in The Constant, I went wild. When Keamy went from ‘not that tough’ to ‘okay, he could be tough’ by going hard as The Wire and shooting Ben’s daughter, I coincidentally wanted to jump up and scream, “That’s what I’m talking about!” You can’t have anyone to really love if you don’t have anyone to really hate. Throw in a loathsome person like Benjamin Linus (who we all love, lets be honest) and you have a terrific show. Leverage that dynamic with the island’s properties and now we’re talking. The Season 4 finale did just that. It didn’t do everything I had hoped (i.e. reveal to us the/a time machine, show where the island went after it ducked below the surface, give us more insight into where Ben goes after banished, etc, etc), but it did enough. I liked how the island disappeared. I liked how Sun sold out for her final scene with Jin (fyi; that was heart wrenchingly painful to watch and I likely won’t watch it again; I liked Jin, I did…. I did). I liked how Sawyer was the man, again––if only for a little while. He kind of went to that hey-don’t-forget-I’m-still-Sawyer place where he does things, almost subconsciously, just to show how much cooler than Jack he is. I thought his jump was well placed and perfect. And if you didn’t hear what he said to Kate in the whisper, you can hear it here.

Bottom line, this finale was like a punch in the belly button. A good punch, though. It hurts a bit; torments you for a while, but its good to know that you can still feel. You can still hurt–– and they still care enough to take the time and effort to punch you.

June 3, 2008 - Posted by | Entertainment, Lost, Television | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I also think the season 3 finale was one of the greatest television episodes I have ever seen. I felt so ashamed of myself for ever saying I enjoyed Heroes more. Do you think Faraday’s most recent group on the raft disappeared with the island, got blown away by the blast, or is still drifting in the ocean?

    Comment by Julie | June 6, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yep it sure was epic. I believe that as a group Lost fans are demanding and expecting a lot more than we used to, but at the same time, they are delivering. Can you imagine how hard it would be to write for a group of people who can turn on your ideas as quickly as we do. I think the Paulo and Nicki ordeal showed just how much control we have.
    And I don’t know if I agree with the simple season statement, I think by simple you meant contained. It answered or at least negated most of the questions it brought up, I personally think that is due to the fact we have an end date in mind now.
    BTW Julie asked a question that I think I can answer, I think that the reason why Daniel was in the water was to save Jin, there is no other real reason to put out a surprisingly well liked, new character in danger except to accomplish something heroic. Whether they went with the island or not is still up in the air, I’ll bet they went halfway. Depending on where you think the island went, that could be many different places, halfway to Bermuda, halfway to Tanzania, halfway to 8 years in the future. I could go on forever and I do at my blog: http://ncjl.wordpress.com/ check it out.

    Comment by izikavazo | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. I really believe LOST is one of the greatest TV shows ever produced!

    Comment by etbcoop | August 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

